REVIEW: The Siren by Tiffany Reisz

Image

This was a tough read for me. While there were elements to the book I liked (the 2 main characters, the witty dialogue between them, and the twists and turns in the plot) I can’t say that I enjoyed reading it. Maybe my moral value system was clouding my experience. Maybe I was expecting more of a My Fair Lady story than I received (since that is how it was advertised). But one thing is for certain. Long after I put the book down, my thoughts kept drifting back to the characters and the choices that they all made. Why couldn’t Nora stay away from a past that she obviously felt she needed to escape from? Why did Zach succumb to Nora’s advances? Did Nora really love her housemate? What will happen to her now that she has returned to the one she ran from? Will there relationship change for the better? Will he leave everything to be with her? All of these questions kept turning over in my mind, again and again. I still have no real sense of the next step in these people’s lives. And I love that. Reading must not always be pleasant. But it must always be thought-provoking.

About chicklitworthreading

Reviewer Girl with her head in the Romance clouds. Love to review and discuss British and American Chick Lit, American Contemporary Romance, and page-turning Fiction.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

