REVIEW: Risking It All by Jennifer Schmidt

Image

I love this book.  I really love this book.  I love the characters.  I love the story.  I love the conflict.  But in the interest of full disclosure,  I have to admit I’ve always been a sucker for the bestfriends-turned-lovers romance.  And that had me smiling from page 1. Jennifer Schmidt crafts an exciting love story between two best friends since college, Kennedy Monroe and Memphis Adams.  Kennedy is the typical American chick lit heroine.  She’s smart, talented, and gorgeous.  And doesn’t realize any of it.  Memphis is the typical chick lit hero.  He initially appears as Mr. Casanova, but as the story progresses we realize there’s more to him than meets the eye.   And as you can guess, a lot of sex, love, and fighting ensues.  Schmidt does a very good job in keeping us interested and invested in Kennedy and Memphis’s love story.  And by the end of the book, I felt like I knew these characters.  And I was genuinely interested in how they ended up.  But there are a few problems with the book.  Some of Kennedy’s self-doubt goes on a bit longer than necessary.  There’s a conflict implied between two businessmen in Alaska that never really pays off.  And the book could have been a tiny bit shorter.  But despite its flaws, there’s so much to this book to love, you don’t really mind.  And that bathroom scene is Hot City!  I enjoyed reading Jennifer Schmidt’s previous book, The Last Call.  And I’m happy to see that she’s not just continuing her writing, but really making it chick lit worth reading.

About chicklitworthreading

Reviewer Girl with her head in the Romance clouds. Love to review and discuss British and American Chick Lit, American Contemporary Romance, and page-turning Fiction.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

