REVIEW: Heiress Behind The Headlines by Caitlin Crews

Image

I have to confess. I’ve never read a Harlequin Presents romance before.  I know that sounds like sacrilege.  And I honestly don’t know how that happened.  But once I realized it, I wanted to correct that over site as quickly as possible.  I found them to be fun reads, with heroines I willingly rooted for.  The romances were wonderfully rom-com like in their dealings with the 2 leads.  And when I saw this title on Netgalley, I expected the same kind of experience.  I was wrong. I was very wrong.  Heiress Behind The Headlines tells the story of Larissa Whitley.  A screwed-up, at-the-end-of-her-rope heiress, who escapes her family and New York City.  And unwittingly runs smack dab in to the one who got away.  Jack Sutton is everything his family expects him to be; responsible.  And when he sees Larissa Whitley invade his small town life, he does everything he can to kick her out.  And obviously, sparks ensue.  Less obvious was the character of Larissa Whitley.  Based on the short blurb, I thought this would be a Paris Hilton type learns to be a good person story.  But Larissa was much more fully realized than that.  She was damaged, physically broken, and utterly irreverent.  Just when you thought her crushed spirit couldn’t take anymore, she’d come out swinging…hard.  I loved her.  She was all twisted up inside, and your heart went out to her.  Jack Sutton was less interesting than Larissa, but still big and bold enough to be worthy of her.  I would have liked a bit more plot.  But the character study of Larissa Whitley was good enough to keep me interested all the way through.  And it kept me thinking about all that had happened to her, long after I put the book down.  This was a good, solid read.

About chicklitworthreading

Reviewer Girl with her head in the Romance clouds. Love to review and discuss British and American Chick Lit, American Contemporary Romance, and page-turning Fiction.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

