REVIEW: Reflected In You by Sylvia Day

Image

I am exhausted.  After reading the highly anticipated 2nd installment of Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series, I feel like I’ve been through three brutal divorces, and one spousal death.  That’s how emotionally turbulent this book is.   In this latest chapter of Gideon and Eva’s love story, Gideon and Eva stumble to further their relationship, while dealing with a myriad of outside obstacles.  As readers will remember, both characters were at some point in their lives physically abused.  And because of that shared trauma, Sylvia Day takes us through an honest portrait of how hard it is for 2 abused people to sustain a healthy relationship.  And let me tell you, it wasn’t easy.  Gideon and Eva would take 1 step forward only to take 2 huge steps back.  But they kept trying… and trying… and trying.  Until they AND the audience were just too tired.  But despite Day’s focus on their relationship, Reflected In You is really Eva’s story.  Day examines the depth of her insecurities.  And how it manifests itself in jealousy, low self-esteem, and self-sabotage.  To say that she is a complicated heroine is an understatement.  I was really rooting for Eva.  And although Sylvia Day did not resolve all of Eva’s issues, I did feel that she managed to move Eva forward in reclaiming part of herself lost to her childhood trauma.  My only complaint is that with the focus on Eva, there just wasn’t enough Gideon for me.  I get why the author made that choice.  I just didn’t like it.  I need my Gideon Cross fix.  He is rich.  He is sexy.  And he is a helluva lover.  My other critique is the lack of any real D/s elements.  I get Sylvia Day’s restraint in not including those elements in the book.  Since Gideon and Eva just aren’t at a place they can be to safely explore that kind of relationship.  But Day is the one that presented Gideon as a Dominant, and revealed his desire to have Eva as his submissive.  Hopefully, we will see more oh-so-sexy Gideon, and the D/s relationship he really wants with Eva.  Since this is definitely chick lit worth reading, I can’t wait until the 3rd installment, Entwined With You, comes out at the end of the year.

About chicklitworthreading

Reviewer Girl with her head in the Romance clouds. Love to review and discuss British and American Chick Lit, American Contemporary Romance, and page-turning Fiction.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

