ARC REVIEW: The Marriage Mistake by Jennifer Probst

 

Jennifer Probst has released 3 books and 4 novellas in a single calendar year. That’s a lot of writing, people.  And unfortunately for Ms. Probst, it shows.  The Marriage Mistake is the 3rd book in her Marriage To A Billionaire series.  Who’s predecessor The Marriage Bargain, spent over 20 weeks on the New York Times Bestsellers List. So when I saw the third installment on NetGalley, I jumped at the chance to read it.  This one tells the story of the youngest Conte sister, Carina.  And her girlhood crush, Maximus Gray.  The book begins when Carina Conte comes to America to work alongside her brother Michael and his best friend Max.  And learns what it takes to become the future CFO of her family’s business, La Dolce Maggie.  Needless to say, Carina and Max fight their attraction to each other, but eventually succumb to their desires.  In a hotel room in Vegas, no less!  Egads! I liked these characters.  And I rooted for them to get together.  But there were too many things that kept me from enjoying their love story.  Firstly, I never felt I was reading a story about 2 Italians who’d come to America to make their mark.  It felt like they were 2 Americans from Italian descent.  And I don’t know about you, but I can’t name any billionaire, anywhere in the world who doesn’t own his own company.  Secondly, the marriage plot that runs throughout this series felt shoe-horned in at the last minute.  And the plot device used to get these 2 down the aisle made me think I was having a serious case of deja vu.   But what ultimately bothered me about this book is the time it takes for Carina and Max to end up together.  I understood the reasoning behind it, but it just felt like prolonging the obvious.  Rather than getting them together in a natural timeframe.  Here’s hoping Jennifer Probst takes a bit more time with Julietta’s story, in the next installment of her bestselling series.  Because I would really love to continue reading these books.

About chicklitworthreading

Reviewer Girl with her head in the Romance clouds. Love to review and discuss British and American Chick Lit, American Contemporary Romance, and page-turning Fiction.
This entry was posted in Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

